2024 Yankton County Commissioners

John Marquardt

Chair- Term 2023 to 2026 John was elected to the Yankton County Commission in January 2023. He was born in Parkston SD and raised in Clayton SD, a small rural Hutchinson County community. He attended a 1 room country schoolhouse through the 3rd grade and then attended Emery Elementary and High School in Emery SD. He went on to work for Trail King Manufacturing holding several positions including customer service and management. John, Gale, and their family moved to Yankton in 1995 to become a manager at Marquardt Transportation, He also served 4 terms as president of St. John’s Lutheran Church, been a USA Umpire for 18 years and is currently the Southeast SD Umpire in Chief. He received the 2020 USA Umpire of the year award for the state of South Dakota. Send an Email

Wanda Howey-Fox

Vice Chair- Term 2021 to 2024 Wanda Howey-Fox was elected to the Yankton County Commission in January, 2021. She is originally from Watertown, South Dakota. Wanda graduated from SDSU with a B.A. She attended USD and graduated with a J.D. She worked for the Department of Agriculture before working as a Special U.S. Attorney for the District of South Dakota. She accepted a position with John Harmelink in 1986 and became partner in the firm of Harmelink and Fox in 1987. She was appointed as the Child Support Referee for the First Judicial Circuit in 1989 and held that position until 2018. She worked as the Yankton County Deputy State’s Attorney under both Mike Ridgeway and Don Erickson. She worked as the “senior” partner with Harmelink, Fox & Ravnsborg until Jason Ravnsborg was sworn in as the Attorney General for the State of South Dakota in January, 2019. Currently, she is practicing as a sole practitioner in Harmelink & Fox Law Office, PC. Send an Email

Ryan Heine

Commissioner- Term 2023 to 2026 Ryan Heine was elected to the Yankton County Commission in January 2023. He was born in Yankton and raised on a family farm near St. Helena, Nebraska. He graduated from Cedar Catholic High School in 1996 and graduated from Parks College of Saint Louis University in 2001 with a B.S. in Physics and Electrical Engineering. He has been a carreer engineer for the past 22 years for NASA, defence contractors, startup companies and currently is a Principal Hardware Engineer for Image Sensing Systems in Minneapolis, Minnesota. He and his family returned to Yankton in 2014, relocating their growing food service company, Counterfeit Catering, and starting their own small specialty farm, 6th Meridian Hop Farm. Send an Email

Don Kettering

Commissioner- Term 2021 to 2024 Don was elected to the Yankton County Commission in January 2015. Send an Email

Dan Klimisch

Commissioner- Term 2023 to 2026 Dan was elected to the Yankton County Commission in January 2019. He was born and raised on a small family farm near Utica, SD. His family homesteaded in Yankton County in 1886 and has been farming in this community for over 132 years. Dan is a graduate of Yankton High School and South Dakota State University. He has a Masters Degree in Business Administration from The University of Mary. Dan is a retired Army Officer and decorated combat veteran who has served multiple overseas tours of duty and is very involved with local veterans groups. Additionally, Dan serves as a director for the James River Water Development District, and farms part-time with his family. Send an Email


Yankton County Treasurer
Monday, July 1, 2024

Reminder: Yankton County residents that have last names starting with M and N have until July 31, 2024 to renew vehicle registration.

Yankton County Highway Department
Tuesday, April 2, 2024

The Yankton County Highway Department will begin their summer hours on Monday, April 02, 2024 and will run until further notice.

Summer hours are Monday through Thursday 6:30am-5:00pm.

Yankton County Weed Department
Tuesday, April 2, 2024

The Yankton County Weed Department would like to remind that Yankton County landowners are required to control noxious weeds on their property. The Weed Department will begin their inspections on May 1, 2024.

Main Phone:

321 West 3rd Street, Suite 100 Yankton, SD 57078

Office Hours:
9:00am - 5:00pm CST, Monday-Friday
Closed on Holidays, Saturdays, & Sunday

Yankton County YouTube Channel

Yankton County © 2024. Developed by Intuvio Solutions.